New to tuning, chasing a stutter/hesitation

Discussion of tuning specific to MAZDASPEED6/MAZDASPEED Atenza/Mazda 6 MPS vehicles
BrownDog185

New to tuning, chasing a stutter/hesitation

Post by BrownDog185 »

hey guys, im relatively new to tuning and could use some help

completely stock Mazda 6 MPS [except ive blocked the BOV off]

having some issues with the OTS maps, they all seem to have various amounts of Missfire/hesitation/stutter around the 3000-4500 rpm range
car is freshly serviced, and had been flash tuned by the previous owner and the hesitation was not present
the dyno printout does show some serious knock retard on the factory tune though

The 91us/93eu with CAI tune is the best working so far, with only minor stutters in the same rpm range

what should i start logging??
mituc
VersaTuner guru

Re: New to tuning, chasing a stutter/hesitation

Post by mituc »

BrownDog185 wrote: September 28th, 2020, 5:15 pm completely stock Mazda 6 MPS [except ive blocked the BOV off]

If you have an aftermarket BOV (even though you say the car is 100% stock) then I can suppose you blocked the vent-to-atmosphere port and returned to its normal operation as a BPV (ByPass Valve or Recirculation Valve).

If the BPV (not BOV) is also stock and you blocked it then there's your hesitation problem.
2008 Cosmic Blue Mazda 3MPS
Built engine + WMI + GTX3071 gen2, ~509BHP @34PSI
2008 Icy Blue Mazda CX7
Stock engine and exhaust (YES!!), JBR3" + GTX2867 gen2 + Autotech HPFP, self-tuned to 330-ish BHP
BrownDog185

Post by BrownDog185 »

mituc wrote: September 29th, 2020, 7:41 am
BrownDog185 wrote: September 28th, 2020, 5:15 pm completely stock Mazda 6 MPS [except ive blocked the BOV off]

If you have an aftermarket BOV (even though you say the car is 100% stock) then I can suppose you blocked the vent-to-atmosphere port and returned to its normal operation as a BPV (ByPass Valve or Recirculation Valve).