Change the Temp Gauge values?

Tuning discussion for all first generation Mazda RX-8 (2004-2008)
Post Reply
Themainmandan
Posts: 10
Joined: October 20th, 2019, 12:15 pm

Change the Temp Gauge values?

Post by Themainmandan »

I’m wondering if a way exists to change the temp gauge values to be within the normal operating temps.. in other words, to make the dummy gauge a useable reliable gauge!

If it doesn’t exist already, would it be possible to do and have it available in an update?

Thanks!

User avatar
Ugnius @ VersaTune
Lead developer
Posts: 402
Joined: March 19th, 2010, 11:57 am

Re: Change the Temp Gauge values?

Post by Ugnius @ VersaTune »

Can you describe in detail what the current issue with the coolant temp gauge is?

Themainmandan
Posts: 10
Joined: October 20th, 2019, 12:15 pm

Re: Change the Temp Gauge values?

Post by Themainmandan »

Well, it’s working just as it should from the factory, it’s just not very precise.. it just sits in the middle even though the temperature fluctuates.. not a big deal, I was just curious!

Also, I’m wondering about SSV control.. I noticed there are two APV tables and a VDI table.. where is the SSV table?

Thanks!

User avatar
Ugnius @ VersaTune
Lead developer
Posts: 402
Joined: March 19th, 2010, 11:57 am

Re: Change the Temp Gauge values?

Post by Ugnius @ VersaTune »

I understand, that is typical of many cars, but I think this logic is controlled by the instrument cluster control unit. We can only reflash the engine control unit. You can use VersaTuner to data log the actual coolant temperature or use any other device/gauge that gets the data from the CAN bus.

Post Reply