Questions for first tune

VersaTuner for Mazdaspeed6, Mazda 6 MPS, Mazdaspeed3, Mazda 3 MPS, CX7
Yilld

Questions for first tune

Post by Yilld »

Hi guys,
I am new to all the ECU tuning and I did not want to just use a VT map and call it a day. I will start with a VT map and try to understand the changes to the stock map. For the understanding part I have some general questions and some regarding the VT base map. Car is a MPS6, closed AGR, TIP and catback exhaust.
1. I started with calibrating the MAF, now I see my LTFT values change every some miles. Am I correct to assume this is due to temperature, airpressure and fuel quality?
2. My catback is supposed to give a powergain of 14HP (which I'm skeptical of). Should I tune for that? I assume if so, I would watch for boost spikes and lower the BCS DC base table values accordingly?
3. Should I use a one step colder spark plug with the base tune or should I stick to the OEM?
4. The "overload protection fuel cut" seems very high compared to the other load values, why is this?
5. Why are the APP mapping different between gears (1,5,6 same and 2-4 same)?
6. Regarding the "Knock retared threshold": why is the max RPM at 5750 and not redline and why is there a min load and not always on?
7. Are "Requested Load multiplier accel/decel adjustment X Gear with APP increase" tables for shifting without lifting the APP and why are they changed between stock and base map?

I have attached the map I would use if someone would want to review it :cool

I would appreciate any input :beertoast
Andy
Attachments
MPS6 v1.00.vtune
(102.15 KiB) Downloaded 200 times
Speed6, Versatuner, Remus Catback, Damond RMM, JBR TIP
mituc
VersaTuner guru

Re: Questions for first tune

Post by mituc »

1. It's normal for the fuel trims mechanism to work. Even with a 100% correct MAF calibration it will be like that only in certain atmospheric pressure, humidity and ambient temperature.