Another Question on Returning to stock form

Installation and Usage Support
Post Reply
Poachersun
Posts: 25
Joined: July 28th, 2016, 5:13 pm

Another Question on Returning to stock form

Post by Poachersun »

Hi Guys,

Sorry couldn't find anything in the FAQ, theoretically easy question:

If i have a mazdaedit tune on my car, overwrite this with Versatune, and then "Return back to stock form" will Versatune use the copied data of the original tune on my car(mazda edit tune) or another form of oem original?

I am assuming it will just backup what ever is actually currently on my Ecu?




Thanks,
J
mituc
VersaTuner guru
Posts: 1097
Joined: December 17th, 2011, 2:47 pm
Location: Iasi/Romania

Re: Another Question on Returning to stock form

Post by mituc »

In the backup process the Versatuner will copy exactly what you have on your car. If you don't have that image any more you can use the versatuner to flash a stock tune on your car, but it's not going to be the exact original that came with the car.
2008 Cosmic Blue Mazda 3MPS
Built engine + WMI + GTX3071, ~476WHP @31-32PSI
2008 Icy Blue Mazda CX7
Stock engine and exhaust (YES!!), JBR3" + GTX2867 gen2 + Autotech HPFP, self-tuned to 320-ish BHP
Poachersun
Posts: 25
Joined: July 28th, 2016, 5:13 pm

Re: Another Question on Returning to stock form

Post by Poachersun »

Excellent thank you. That might work for me. I am gonna tune from scratch as the tune i have has got knock and a few other issues to address. When editing, comparing to "stock tune" is this comparing to the stock tune taken off the car? Or a stock tune on file/software?
mituc
VersaTuner guru
Posts: 1097
Joined: December 17th, 2011, 2:47 pm
Location: Iasi/Romania

Re: Another Question on Returning to stock form

Post by mituc »

Versatuner can only compare tunes it has in its own database. The tune taken from the car is not going to be part of that as it's only a memory image of the ECU, but the stock tune from the OTS tunes database is exactly the stock tune (with very small variations, depending on the region or stock tune revision).

So you will be able to compare the tune you work on with a stock tune (to create a stock tune just click new and then save that calibration) or with any existing OTS tunes.

If you can provide a list with your current modifications and bolt-ons we can advise on which OTS tune to use as a starting point.
2008 Cosmic Blue Mazda 3MPS
Built engine + WMI + GTX3071, ~476WHP @31-32PSI
2008 Icy Blue Mazda CX7
Stock engine and exhaust (YES!!), JBR3" + GTX2867 gen2 + Autotech HPFP, self-tuned to 320-ish BHP
Poachersun
Posts: 25
Joined: July 28th, 2016, 5:13 pm

Re: Another Question on Returning to stock form

Post by Poachersun »

Damn. Yeh tricky because i have:
Bnrs3
Ebcs
3" htp intake
Rmm upgrade
corksport HPFP
Catless eBay downpipe
2nd cat removed
Custom aftermarket TMIC (corksport similar)
GFB BOV
3bar bosch map sensor

Ill have to start from scratch getting maf cal done and running on wastgatr spring to dial in load/boost. Have only skimmed over the tuning info here been using past experience but am going to read in full detail now.
mituc
VersaTuner guru
Posts: 1097
Joined: December 17th, 2011, 2:47 pm
Location: Iasi/Romania

Re: Another Question on Returning to stock form

Post by mituc »

Well, you'll probably have to begin with a high-load dith downpipe tune, lower the BCS DC values, add the right calibrations for your intake and MAP sensor and start from there.
Hiring an e-tuner would be an even better idea.
2008 Cosmic Blue Mazda 3MPS
Built engine + WMI + GTX3071, ~476WHP @31-32PSI
2008 Icy Blue Mazda CX7
Stock engine and exhaust (YES!!), JBR3" + GTX2867 gen2 + Autotech HPFP, self-tuned to 320-ish BHP
Poachersun
Posts: 25
Joined: July 28th, 2016, 5:13 pm

Re: Another Question on Returning to stock form

Post by Poachersun »

Thanks will look through that. Etuning with versatune seems quite expensive and only a select few actually do it. Most are cobb and charge more for versa. I have done tuning before but these mazdas are a way different beast. I just need to put the time in and learn it. Just doing small safe adjustments.
mituc
VersaTuner guru
Posts: 1097
Joined: December 17th, 2011, 2:47 pm
Location: Iasi/Romania

Re: Another Question on Returning to stock form

Post by mituc »

All that matters is that some of the best work with VT: Alex@Stratified and Freektune.
2008 Cosmic Blue Mazda 3MPS
Built engine + WMI + GTX3071, ~476WHP @31-32PSI
2008 Icy Blue Mazda CX7
Stock engine and exhaust (YES!!), JBR3" + GTX2867 gen2 + Autotech HPFP, self-tuned to 320-ish BHP
Walle
Posts: 14
Joined: August 29th, 2021, 7:27 pm

Re: Another Question on Returning to stock form

Post by Walle »

I hope I am writing this in the right section and its not a problem im taking an old thread but I do find it relevant.

My mazda Rx-8 was tuned by mazdaedit long time ago.

I was told Versa tuner can load the stock map on to it.
I tried 2 methods:
    "return car to stock" - which gave this error
    2021-09-04 19_19_44-Window.png
    2021-09-04 19_19_44-Window.png (100.6 KiB) Viewed 264 times
      "install Versa tuner"
      which gave this questionare:
      2021-09-04 19_21_50-Window.png
      2021-09-04 19_21_50-Window.png (111.61 KiB) Viewed 264 times
      after which it has returned this error:
      2021-09-04 19_20_26-Window.png
      2021-09-04 19_20_26-Window.png (98.95 KiB) Viewed 264 times
      please advise
      Walle
      Posts: 14
      Joined: August 29th, 2021, 7:27 pm

      Re: Another Question on Returning to stock form

      Post by Walle »

      Issue have been fully solved by Versa tuner support.
      For further reference. I have been given a small software to read the ecu "access codes" and I sent a LOG of that to V.T. for which they than adjusted a small program to execute. After that the Versa tuner was installed as normal.

      If you have support question write to them directly on support email, and don't go through forum / fb.
      Post Reply