93 tune made no noticeable difference to anything

Installation and Usage Support
ASP0511

93 tune made no noticeable difference to anything

Post by ASP0511 »

Hello, I am very new to the Versatuner community so please be patient with my understanding :)

I purchased Versatuner Lite and this morning I flashed the 93 pops and crackles tune for my 2013 2.0 Mazda 3. I drove it for 20 miles like the program said and there is no noticeable difference in the pedal feel, pops, or power. I wondered if the tune was even applied so I did a pull up to 7,000 RPM to verify (stock rev limiter is 6,500)

Is anyone else experiencing this?
mituc
VersaTuner guru

Re: 93 tune made no noticeable difference to anything

Post by mituc »

Flash it again, make sure it flashes.
The factory rev limiter is 6500rpm but on the dash you will see close to 7000rpm. The "error" is programmed into the cluster pretty much the same way as the speed. When you will read the RPM from the OBD2 port using the versatuner logging/dashboard you will see the real RPM and speed.
2008 Cosmic Blue Mazda 3MPS
Built engine + WMI + GTX3071 gen2, ~509BHP @34PSI
2008 Icy Blue Mazda CX7
Stock engine and exhaust (YES!!), JBR3" + GTX2867 gen2 + Autotech HPFP, self-tuned to 330-ish BHP
ASP0511

Post by ASP0511 »

mituc wrote: April 20th, 2023, 7:47 am. When you will read the RPM from the OBD2 port using the versatuner logging/dashboard you will see the real RPM and speed.
I flashed it twice, but still no dice :/ I also made sure that the rpm was reading over 6500; it read like 6980 or something like that before it cut the fuel.

I don’t know what would cause this because the tune definitely changed the redline but there’s no other differences that I can tell.
CrazyCanadian

Post by CrazyCanadian »

Do a 20min drive logging factory... then on the same day, same road test loop do it with the 93 tune.. make sure you vary accell, some WOT and steady state driving... try and match each drive as close as possible..